Notre Dame High School

12 February 2018

Secretary Warner Recognizes Students as Honorary Secretaries of State

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Secretary of State Mac Warner is proud to announce that students from high schools in Harrison and Marion counties have been selected as Honorary Secretaries of State for their efforts to register their classmates to vote.

Notre Dame High School students Christian Palmer and Marielle Carter, and Fairmont Senior High School students Jarrett Schleicher, Jarryd Powell, and Hayden Moran were selected for this prestigious program.

The Honorary Secretary of State Program recognizes high school students who are active in the voter registration process. These students have registered eligible 17 and 18-year-old high school seniors to vote.

These honorees are part of a group of 49 students across West Virginia who have helped organize more than 100 voter registration drives in their schools and communities. These efforts have helped register 13,688 eligible high school seniors in 2017.

Secretary Warner introduced Palmer, Carter, Schleicher, Powell, and Moran and congratulated them and their high schools Friday morning in a ceremony held in the Secretary of State’s Office in the State Capitol.

Christian Palmer of Clarksburg is the son of Glen & Michelle Palmer. Marielle Carter of Bridgeport is the daughter of Dale & Theresa Carter. Jarrett Schleicher of Fairmont is the son of William Schleicher and Melissa Schleicher. Jarryd Powell of Fairmont is the son of Brian Powell and Peggy Powell. Hayden Moran of Fairmont is the son of Melissa Moran, Kelley Moran.